Future 79 Cherokee Build Questions

Modified FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
ulfhednar

Future 79 Cherokee Build Questions

Post by ulfhednar »

Hopefully this is posted in the right section. I wasnt sure if I should just write everything in one post or do an individual post for each question, but here it goes all together.

I am new to all of this and this will be my first FSJ build which I will not be starting until December so I am currently in the planning phase. I have been doing a lot of reading and looking through build threads and have come up with a few things I would like some input on.

I will be working with a 1979 cherokee chief which afaik currently has a 360/th400/quadratrac tc.

My plan is to swap in a 5.3l v8/ 6l80 transmisson/np242 tc.
Regarding wiring:
Electrical stuff is probably what Im having the most issues understanding. So when doing a powertrain swap for an fsj, or any vehicle I assume, the stock wiring harness for all accessories such as for example, the AC/lighting/dash/column controls is plugged into the harness that comes from the donor engine? Is that right?

Also, regarding the electronics. Combing through the harness is to eliminate unneeded wiring to accessories/functions that do not exist in our jeeps? And coding the ECU/TCU is again to eliminate certain functions that do not exist/arent needed for our jeeps?

Regarding Axles:
Since my jeep has both axles with passenger side differentials I will need to swap in later model fsj axles from a j10 or a cherokee that have the driver side differentials. From what I can tell these axles can be found in 1980+ vehicles. Would axles such as these be direct bolt in, or do I need to cut off/re-weld any suspension mounting points?

Regarding Dash: