76 Wagoneer on a Dodge frame

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
WaggyGuy

Post by WaggyGuy »

So, this is my first time making a build thread. Here's the back story. I had a friend who owned a 96 Dodge Ram 1500 with the 5.9L Magnum V8. I did more work than I care to remember on that truck. Well, the engine "died" (or so he thought at the time) so he gave the truck to me. My original plan was to see if the engine was rebuildable and use it with another Jeep project I had. Well, the engine was fine. The plenum gasket was toast, which caused the horrible running condition and a push rod broke, which caused a dead cylinder. I tore it apart and took it to the machine shop. That's where the Wagoneer comes in.

I had been seeing and dreaming about this thing for 8+ years as I would drive by it, but I thought it was next to an abandoned building. It turns out it was in the yard at the machine shop. When I picked up my block, we made a deal and I dragged it home.

Another shot:

Topic author
WaggyGuy

Re: 76 Wagoneer on a Dodge frame

Post by WaggyGuy »

So once I got the Wagoneer home I started planning the project. I sold my old Jeep to my neighbor's son and went all in with this project. I searched online for build threads about using a Dodge Ram frame under a Wagoneer, but didn't find much info. That's why I decided to start this thread. The plan is to sit the Wagoneer body on top of a shortened Ram frame and use all of the Ram drivetrain (360, Auto Trans, 231 t/c, etc).

The Donor:

I took a lot of measurements and spent tons of time online planning the cuts. What I found from hands-on research surprised me. The Dodge Ram 1500 has 3 piece frame rails. The front two are welded together and then the third piece is riveted on at the front spring hanger. You can see the welded area between the four large holes:

And here is the riveted section:

Topic author
WaggyGuy

Post by WaggyGuy »