Electric problems

Stock FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
Walter

Electric problems

Post by Walter »

Hey guys,
I am not a mechanic so bear with me. I have a question about starting problems. This is what I have, just bought a 1984 GW for parts on a 1983 Cherokee we have. PO says that the inline six in the GW ran fine until it wouldn't crank one day. He assumes it is an electrical issue. I would not be surprised judging by the current awful condition of all the wires on the vehicle ( excellent body however). My question is, how much can I disconnect from the old wiring and still get the vehicle to run? Does the ECU control Anything that would prohibit it from running? I am sure it is bad, the gel coating on the back has melted out. Is that an indicator of another problem as well? I have hooked a good battery to it and jumped the solenoid. I can get the engine to turn but not fire, even with a little fuel in the top of the carb. Any suggestions would be great. I am considering redoing this vehicle as well since it is so solid and the engine compartment is so clean. PO added a lift and new tires and does not appear to have been offroaded. Interior is trashed though.
Thanks

Stuka
Site Admin

Re: Electric problems

Post by Stuka »

So it will turn over when jumping the solinoid but not when using the key?

The solinoid will get the engine to turn over, but it wont send power to the dizzy. You need the key to be in the run position for that. Assuming those wires are still connected.