1) Vision 2) Recon 3)Strategic Planning - Wagoneer LS Swap?

Modified FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
Kowpie

1) Vision 2) Recon 3)Strategic Planning - Wagoneer LS Swap?

Post by Kowpie »

Greetings
I realize this topic has been visited, revisited, then finally taken up permanent residency but I'm new to it and would like to tap into that wellspring of knowledge that many of the sages here have in their possesion. I have many questions but mostly, I don't even know what to ask. This reminds me of what my old boss used to say, "You don't know, what you don't know". So here I am, hat in hands...

The details: 1978 Wagoneer with a 401, TH400, and QT. The 401 has a spun bearing. This will be used as a long distance vintage RV hauler with some assorted hunting/fishing trips with grandkids, all the while looking very cool in one of the best looking family rigs ever! I'm looking for reliability (fuel injection, computer controls), performance, and fuel mileage. In that order. I am in no hurry, I have the funds, I have a large shop, I have the tools, ain't skeert, and I really enjoy doing this stuff. I've had two previous GM trucks with the 6.0 and they were fantastic.

1) What or who have some of the best build threads?
2) 4.8, 5.3, 6.0? Something else?
3) 4l80, 6l80?
4) Transfer case... which one that deals with the passenger side drop?
5) Fuel... modify the stock tank or swap in from another rig?
6) Driveshafts... lengthen, shorten, SYE?
7) Years or year range to stay away from?
8) What am I not asking that I should be asking?
9) Good vendors to deal with?

I really appreciate your time and input.
'65 Wagoneer, 230 OHC, IFS, Column Shift T90/D20
'73 J4000, 6000#, 258, T18/D20, 33", full disc.
'79 CJ7, 304, T18/D20, 35", 4.56, SOA, shackle reversal.

cpfeifffer

Re: 1) Vision 2) Recon 3)Strategic Planning - Wagoneer LS Swap?

Post by cpfeifffer »

I am in the midst of the same thing.