Self Taught garbage fire (I need a name)

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
TitaniaDieKrieger

Self Taught garbage fire (I need a name)

Post by TitaniaDieKrieger »

Hello everybody. I had another thread on here but the thread was dead and I wasn't feeling the name so I decided to start fresh. So to recap.
I have a 79 Cherokee Chief that I picked up after I enlisted as my first vehicle.
25.jpg
I was immediately suckerpunched by needing a rebuilt transmission. 2500 bucks later the new starter they installed was faulty so had to take it back.

I tinkered on it here and there. Changed the oil, got new shocks, replaced the belts. All the standard stuff.
24.jpg
Then I got into bigger stuff. Motor mounts were shot just like every other rubber part. Thankfully my base had an auto shop. (I learned most of what I know from Enrique an old tech with too much patience)
33.jpg
One of my mirrors was busted so I went to the junk yard and snagged a mirror off an old chevy work truck.

Made a short 200 mile roadtrip for the holidays and I got to say refueling these things sucks at the pump but its a hell of a lot worse on the side of the highway out of a crappy fuel container.

From there I decided to tear out the stanky carpet and found a bit of a mess.
27.jpg
28.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Cheapthrills

Re: Self Taught garbage fire (I need a name)

Post by Cheapthrills »

Good looking ride. Man that rust is bad.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

tedlovesjeeps71

Post by tedlovesjeeps71 »

You in Germany? What branch of Service?

Topic author
TitaniaDieKrieger

29.jpg
30.jpg
Well turns out removing rust can be hard or it can be easy. Here is a hint. Don't use tin snips
21.jpg
This picture is from a much later date after I had cleaned it all out.