great grandads farm truck

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
keyappstate

great grandads farm truck

Post by keyappstate »

hey guys. happy to find a solid active forum, in the age of FB it seems like the forums are dying. anyways, ive been restoring late model toyotas for the past 10 years or so, i like them and they have been relatively cheap but the market on them is outrageous so ive gotten out of that game. i decided to sell my toyota fleet while the market is hot and put the money towards my great grandfathers J truck. im not a complete idiot towards jeeps, but im far from an expert. he died when i was a kid and my dad drove the truck through the 90s and it eventually turned into a weekend or holiday camper hauler. then it found its way into a barn, as most do. its been sitting quietly for about 10 years i guess. i made the move this weekend to finally drive home (i live in Louisiana but am from NC) and trailer her to my current house to start this project. its a 1972 (build date dec 71) j4000 with gvw 8000, so i guess that makes it a j48000? 360 with 4 speed. the truck isnt perfect but ive seen worse.. this will be a full restore/mod process. i started filming and plan to film to entire process. getting her running wasnt bad, new coil and points, some fuel and a battery and she fired up. brakes were all frozen, busted 3 of them loose, was good enough to get it onto a trailer. seems like the parts market is not so great for the pre-74 trucks. ive found BJs and jeeprecyclers. more to come, but i wanted to introduce the project and activate my account. thanks!

Stuka
Site Admin

Re: great grandads farm truck

Post by Stuka »

Welcome to the forum. Looks like a really original example, even down to the bag for the wiper fluid. Should be a cool project. And yes, a J4000 with the 8000 gvw is a J4800. It will have a closed knuckle D44 up front, and a D60-3 in back.