1975 j-20 wrecker

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
nimbus09

1975 j-20 wrecker

Post by nimbus09 »

Hey guys,
My name is Myles Magnusson and I'm 17 and from Manitoba, Canada. I've decided to make a build forum for my 1975 j-20 wrecker, this is my first build, first post, and first fsj so you may have to bear with me though this.

I saw the truck this spring on kijiji, after a few months of thinking and looking at pictures (add this forum), I drove 7 hours to Saskatoon and dragged the beast home. The truck was once parked a little to close to a fire and all the lenses are either melted or broken, there is also a fair amount of rust through the floors, and some holes in the wrecker bed, the front fenders are bent up and rusting away, and the exhaust has rusted away. but she seems to run well and have a solid drive line including the PTO for the wrecker winch it has the 360 and a 4 speed manual, with the d20 tcase. I paid $1000 for the truck and some might say that's high considering the condition but to be fair it looked a lot better in the pictures the guy sent me and after all the planning and driving i wasn't coming home empty handed.
this is the truck in question

for any of you that are wondering, yes a j-20 will fit on a u-haul trailer with mere inches to spare, also the irony of towing a tow truck was well noted along our journey.

I believe this to be the same factory option as Jaber's wrecker and found this diagram of the wrecker on alpar this picture shows almost exactly what the wrecker looks like except on my truck the tail lights are ressesed

this is the floors, not a great picture but it shows the extent of the rust on and through the floors, the driver side I can put my foot through.

this is a Cherokee chief i picked up for $300 for parts (mainly the front clip) pm me if you think i might have something else on the vehichle you may need for your project