Lift Kit 101 Questions.

Area for Offroad Modification Tech

Topic author
kirk

Lift Kit 101 Questions.

Post by kirk »

Im still a ways off from lift. But, I cant find what I'm looking for. Remember, Im a fSJ newb. XJs and TJs, no FSJs. I want to run a 3 or 4" lift on my '87. Ive been watching the lift pics thread, and I like the look on some of the posted pics. I think it helped me make up my mind. Originally, I wanted this look:

Found the image on google. The more I read, search and look at pics, I'm thinking thats a 6" lift? And maybe so I can drive everyday and not get like 6mpg, a 3/4" lift would be better.

This guy did 4", and I like it. However he just used springs i think his blog said, and the ride suffered.

Remember, I wont be doing "hardcore" trail riding like you guys. I just want to lift it and run bigger tires. So my question is, now that I spent the night looking on BJs website and others, what do I need to be looking at in a 3-4" lift? There are so many options and so many things I dont know. Like, at what point do I need longer brake lines? How about sway bar disconnects, driveshaft issues, etc? When does that come in? Should I lift it with leaf springs? Blocks? Sheesh. Who makes the best kit? I dont like doing things twice. I like to buy good parts, do it once, move on. BUT, just because somethings expensive doesnt always mean its best. So any basic FSJ lift info that you guys alllll take for granted that I probably have no idea about, I would love to know. Or post links or websites whatever. Ill do my own research, just point me in the right direction.

I did want to say that so far, everyone here has been super nice and super helpful to me in my infinate know nothingness. Thank you, and watch my thread for questions as I start working on it soon. (I hope)
'87 Wagoneer & a '87 Parts Carcass for sale

Stuka
Site Admin

Re: Lift Kit 101 Questions.

Post by Stuka »