Work clothes opinions

Area for General NON-Jeep related chat. Topics are typically not moderated, but must fall within the Use Guidelines.

Topic author
Southern Gorilla

Work clothes opinions

Post by Southern Gorilla »

After more than ten years, my Carhartt jacket looks like I stole it from a bum. The bib coveralls I just bought two months ago at Tractor Supply are falling apart already. So I'm in the market for new cold weather gear for next year.

The problem is that I'm big and tall. All the B&T shops should really be called "big or tall" shops. They assume guys over six feet have narrowish waists and guys with big waists are stumpy. At 6'2", 320 with a 48-50 inch waist I have a really hard time finding clothes that fit right. Especially clothes that fit right while I'm working.

And I need durable clothes. I work for a living. I'm carrying raw steel, machined surfaces, timbers, and other hard/sharp objects. I'm always brushing against edges. I'm tough on clothing.

I'm not some fashionista who has to have the hot designer label. Off brands are just fine. Carhartt has been good to me, but I think they may be starting to slide. I've looked at Duluth Trading, but buying without trying worries me. I don't know what other brands are out there. I just need a heavy jacket and bib coveralls that fit and will last.

While I'm thinking about it, what do y'all do for rain gear? The company bought me one of those lovely yellow PVC suits. The coveralls don't fit (they never do with those suits). So my legs get soaked. The jacket is actually big enough I can wear it over my Carhartt. I think they had to special order a 5X to get it right. But I'm looking at maybe a duster/drover coat. Something I could wear on its own in the summer to stay dry or wear over coveralls in the winter.

And I still need a lighter jacket for those cool, windy days.

Any thoughts y'all have on the subject are welcome.
Having seller's regret.

jaber
Vendor

Re: Work clothes opinions