Cherokee Chief Issues

Area for General FSJ related chat.

Topic author
NorthMN

Cherokee Chief Issues

Post by NorthMN »

Presently my daily driver is a 1980 Jeep Cherokee Chief (4wd, AMV V8). This Jeep has been in my family since it was bought brand new and sat in my grandparents garage since early 2000’s. A replacement motor was installed as well as a full rebuild was conducted in 2000. Ever since then it has sat in a garage until I drive it down to North Carolina and started using it as my daily driver. In doing this several issues have come to light that I’m hoping some of you could help me out with.

1) After getting most of the under carriage seals replaced I seem to have an exhaust leak that I need to chase. I’m debating just installing headers, but at the same time after reading a previous forum on here I’m leaning back towards new manifolds. Any advice on replacing the rusted out manifolds? I’m not a mechanic but have a general knowledge.

2) whenever I let of the gas going highway speeds I get what seems like back pressure. I’m assuming this is due to the exhaust leak since the motor mounts are fine. Any suggestions on what this could be? Since the exhaust has a leak my mechanic turned down the richness of the carburetor to eliminate a hot idle and this noise has been amplified since then.

3) Ever since I’ve taken this Jeep the A/C doesn’t work. I’m assuming that I’m going to have to replace the A/C clutch and compressor. Seems like the best I can find for a replacement is on Summit racing. Any tips on replacing the A/C clutch and compressor?

4) When driving the Jeep it seems like it’s having a hard time shifting from 2nd to 3rd. More so it tends to go from 2nd to 3rd immediately after shifting into 2nd. At this point I’m assuming a transmission rebuild might be looming. Transmission filter, seals, and fluid just changed. It will short shift for a while and then correct itself, then revert right back. Any advice?