Newbie!

Area for General FSJ related chat.

Topic author
why_rick

Newbie!

Post by why_rick »

Hey guys, just bought my first FSJ. 1977 Cherokee Chief purchased in Arizona.
Question: I am a California resident and have to pass smog. What equipment do I even need to put on this thing? I have a smog/air pump that needs to be installed and I’m not sure what else I need. I’ve searched around and haven’t had much luck finding info (I haven’t called a shop yet). Any resources would be great.
Here she is: Chief wide track with the Levi edition. 112k original miles. Little bit of rust in the usual places (fenders). Purred like a kitten for the 300 mile drive with the only issue of the lights flickering on and off here and there.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Chop your own wood and it'll warm you twice

77 Cherokee Chief Wide Track Levi Edition, stock 360 (for now)
65 Chevy C10, 350, 700R4

Theodore

Re: Newbie!

Post by Theodore »

Very nice. Greetings from TN. Welcome to the forum.

I'd recommend taking a few pix from one side to the other of the engine bay & creating another thread to talk CA Smog & posting the pix of what you have & how much is missing. Searching the forum may reveal pictures & details of others who have passed CA Smog. oljeep.com is another resource to take a look at - it contains a treasure trove of owners manuals, service manuals that will be of help.
1990 Grand Wagoneer - "Theodore" - AMC 360, fuel-injected, TF727, NP229 - Sand Metallic - restoring to stock - Build Thread

tgreese

Post by tgreese »

Hi - welcome from Boston.

There is a table of the factory smog devices in the TSM (factory shop manual) for 1977. You will find an online copy of it here: https://oljeep.com/edge_parts_man.html Look on page 4A-41.