Cherk 68

Area to show off your Custom Build threads.

Topic author
Tad
Vendor

Cherk 68

Post by Tad »

Most that know me also know that I am surely no Jeep purist by any stretch of the imagination and in reality as of about Ouray 2012 I was pretty much at the point of simply finishing the Caddy swap and just spending the rest of my time fabricating parts and beating the chop-top until it died. I've been driving and wrenching on Jeep and Willys rigs since 1978 and was finally getting bored with it.

Despite that and for quite some time there have only been two FSJ's I have been remotely interested in doing another project with. A 1991 Final Edition or a first year 1974 NT Cherokee.

Enough about me: Meet Cherk #68

This rig is not for or about me, it's for Em as I am partially responsible for talking her into getting rid of her '76 Scout and it's about saving a piece of history at the same time.

The discussion began with the seller on August 28, 2013 who is working in NorCal with the Jeep being about 25 miles north of Silver City, NM near a small town called Cliff, NM.
This was one of the original CL pictures.

Yes, that's a gold pan bolted to the hood.
At this point I began discussing the ad with Flint and received a few more pic's from the seller.
Those are all located here: http://s149.photobucket.com/user/tadsal ... sellerpics
Most are from a cell camera and some are from the original CL ad.

After getting the pic's in the above album sorted and sharing a few select ones, Em and I decided to road trip it over and take a look, we were due for a road trip anyway, how could it hurt to just go look.
It's now September 6th, we head over after work, get a good nights sleep and head out on the morning of the 7th to meet Cherk.