SOA ride height vs. stock?

Modified FSJ Tech Area

Topic author
haminawag

SOA ride height vs. stock?

Post by haminawag »

If you start with a bone stock '79 Wagoneer, and do a SOA conversion to it, how many inches of lift do you get? I'm figuring a 4" axle tube + the leaf spring pack thickness (1.5"?) + the spring perch height (1.5"). So about 7" of lift overall, right? So with some spring flex a set of 6" lift shocks should do the trick. Am I right, or did I miss something?

So then I reconverted the front to a Rough Country 4" SUA lift, and left the rear alone (6" lift) and yet there doesn't seem to be but a slight forward rake, maybe around 1" of nose-down difference, if that, why?

I don't mind the slight rake at all, and it'd be a heck of a lot easier to leave the rear end as is. But since I'm basically an FSJ newbie am I violating a cardinal rule by doing this? My old school instincts are telling me to level it out and get 4" lift shocks for the rear. But will I be safe by leaving the rear alone and will 6" shocks be the right choice for the rear?

Any thoughts from you fellas with the hands on experience will be much appreciated.
Let us not forget what our fathers taught us.

Ham-in-a-Wag
1967 Plymouth Fury
1979 Wagoneer
2000 RAV4

Tad
Vendor

Re: SOA ride height vs. stock?

Post by Tad »

If you use the TT's perches it is basic math.
4 3/4" + the thickness of your spring pack.
It will settle down up front about 1/2" up front as our stock springs were not designed for the forces applied in a SOA setup.

You need to clarify the rest of your question/statement.
Seems confusing, I do this a lot.
A collection of 1966 to 1986 parts.
Self Inflicted Flesh Wound
Caddy425/TH400/Atlas 4spd/14B/D60/locked front and rear/Hydroassist/39.5 Irocks
(Join date = Friday the 13th)

My Stuff:
http://www.ttsfabworks.com/
Tech Stuff:
IFSJA WMS Project

Topic author
haminawag

Post by haminawag »

I, however, don't do this a lot, this is my first lift. What are "TT" perches?